19.7.09

Is it just me, or....

Sarah thinks I'm a complete nut, but I drive in Tucson without airconditioning on in the car.

This is not to say that I revel in the burning sensations of exposure to hot plastic or that I gain any pleasure from the sense that someone, somewhere nearby, forgot to turn off their hair-dryer.

I do it out of honesty, on one hand. We live in the freakin' desert, for starters. I also do it because in my preferred mode of transport I have no choice, and few things are more jarring than having just slipped out of a cold vehicle to pull on a hot jacket and subject oneself to exposure to 100+' temps in a helmet while riding a motorcycle.

So I get all sorts of weird looks from fellow drivers when I'm driving in to towne from Kitt Peak in the UA van. I sweat. I drink about a litre of water in the 55 minutes it takes to get back to campus from the hill.

So Ka. I live in the desert.