30.10.09

I did it. I finally did it.

I rode the bicycle to work today.

To look at the raw numbers, it's nothing. Piddle. The anxiety about route, would I be up for it, would I get smoked by some hotshots...anyway, i did it.

And it wasn't half bad. The throat is hella dry still but the temp, for as cold as it was, was actually nice. Need to suss out a quicker, legal route through campus once I'm up there so I can ride all the way to the lockup for the vehicles, but yeah, was good.

Going home may be a different matter, what with the traffic and the looking-into-the-sun, but we'll see. Speedway under the tracks is still a grinder, though I'm of a mind to say frak the signs and ride on the sidewalk under there: road is too narrow on first blush.

But Thank You Dept of Transport for having widened under I-10: that used to scare me on the motorcycle, nevermind on a pedalbike. Now, not so much.

anyway, my plan is Tues/Thurs and Fri as a possible, depending on schedule. Gotta spool up the metabolism somehow ;-)

No comments: