Buckelew Farms has an annual Halloween pumpkin thing that the Family Fearnow attended today, with our long-lost mates Ving and Ruth (but sans Rafa). Wendy, Ash and Jules rolled out as well, and overall a good time was had. But man it was HOT.
Wasn't fall projected to be happening around now? Oh, wait. That was last week. On or around Wednesday we had winter, i hear, and Spring was typically fleeting. Yay! Back to summer!
Also, whats up with people letting their brood roam and steal pumpkins from people who have already suffered the slings and arrows of the little gourd gloccids? Some well-to-do plastic surgery nightmare ripped off My Pie's pumpkin and then airily denied it. Kind of a bummer since everyone by that time was too tired to
Anyway, it was overall good fun. I hope the 4-H animals get to spend the night in a cool spot coz they were looking pre-cooked when we got there.
Last weekend was RinCon09, the local 'con put on by SAGA (Southern AZ Gamers Assoc). In short, it was goodish, though still rocky. Friday was a fine game by Chris B of the THGS crew: he threw down an amazing spread of Wild West town buildings and we had a good ol' shootout, until the zombies showed up. Then it got REALLY fun until we succeeded in eliminating them, and and then I got right back to losing the game headlong. Still, a hoot. The rules are simple, fast, and easily resolved. Its nice when the rules really are so unobtrusive that they don't warrant their own book and analysis. Thanks to Shannon for running the zedz, and I hope your Ninja gets out of it's slumber soon.
Saturday was good from a gaming perspective: Played a homebrew version of Munchkin using Firefly as the basis and wound up having Chris, Shannon and two drop-ins for my game of Moto Grand Prix. Thanks to Mr Lopez I now know that I've been interpreting the rules incorrectly, but we had a fine bout regardless. For the first time, though, I won a game I had just taught people. I'm sure, someplace, that something Very Bad happened and that I am directly responsible, but HTG I've never rolled so consistently well. Later, I was almost killed my Wil Wheaton rounding a corner in a made dash to (presumably) lighten his load in the loo. My brush with greatness, outside of the TCC toilet. Downsides to the day: Hat getting behind the microphone every 10 minutes with a garbled plea to do something or other for someone he knows/games with/feels he owes something to and interrupting the people who are actually already gaming/trying to explain games to.Also, the 'Rincoin' reward system needs work: just because I'm not blowing sunshine up the arse of Hat or Bo or the like during the week doesn't mean that I don't get a Coin as recognition for running game(s) at their 'con. Maybe a signin sheet for GMs and Players that gets submitted for 'Coins? Anyway, my favouritism flags got all worn out from flying on that one.
Supposedly we go back to something like (but not identifiable as) Fall tomorrow night. In the meantime I have to go to work on a Sunday to change the ring. Whee. I'm thinking of riding The Bucket just to have fun on the hill but we'll see.
Caeli is awesome and getting moreso daily. Sarah is a rock and is about to explode - enjoy the quiet, luv. Once you do burst the nights they will not be so silent. more later.

No comments:
Post a Comment